Kwok Cheuk Kin v Secretary for Justice

[2021] 3 HKLRD 140, [2021] HKCA 871, [2021] HKEC 2574
高等法院首席法官潘兆初、上訴法庭副庭長林文瀚、上訴法庭法官鮑晏明
2021年1月19日、20日;6月11日

案情

2017年,香港特別行政區行政長官與廣東省省長簽訂了《內地與香港特別行政區關於在廣深港高鐵西九龍站設立口岸的合作安排》,以實施高鐵的“一地兩檢”清關程序。根據《合作安排》,內地與香港特別行政區(作為兩個不同司法管轄區)的海關、出入境及檢疫手續,在西九龍站(高鐵香港段終點站)的香港口岸區和內地口岸區陸續辦理。內地口岸區被視為位處內地,受內地司法權和法律所管轄(但某些規定的保留事項除外)。隨後,全國人民代表大會常務委員會(全國人大常委會)通過了《合作安排》,並確認其符合憲法和香港特別行政區基本法(“全國人大常委會決定”)。內地與香港特別行政區按各自的程序實施合作安排,包括在香港特別行政區制定《廣深港高鐵(一地兩檢)條例》(第632章)(《條例》)。

Xs提起司法覆核程序,質疑《條例》的合憲性,理由包括:(i)《條例》(尤其是第6條下的推定條文)違反了《基本法》第18條和第19條,原因是香港特別行政區法律被排除在香港特別行政區地理邊界以內的某個地方行使;及(ii)完全不適用香港特別行政區的法律,乃違反《基本法》賦予香港特別行政區在行政、立法及司法權力方面的相關規定,以及違反“一國兩制”原則。法官裁定《條例》符合憲法,並駁回了實體申請。Xs提出上訴,主要理由是法官在以下地方犯錯:(i)依賴或過度依賴該項應將《基本法》視為一份“活的文獻”的原則;考慮“全國人大常委會之決定”及/或裁定其具有高度說服力;(iii)裁定《條例》符合《基本法》,與《基本法》第18條和第19條及《基本法》之基本目的與政策不符;及(iv)裁定在西九龍站設立內地口岸區,本身就是香港高度自治的體現,以及承認香港和內地實行兩種截然不同的制度。

上訴法庭將核心問題表述為:“是否除了所界定的保留事項外,將[西九龍站的]內地口岸區視為不在香港而在內地,以適用內地法律及劃定內地口岸區的管轄權(包括法院管轄權),屬於《條例》違反了……《基本法》第18條和第19條……從而亦違反了根據‘一國兩制’原則來建立[香港特別行政區]的基本政策;以及削弱了香港特別行政區享有的高度自治。”

裁定—維持下級法院的判決,並駁回Xs的上訴,理由如下:

  1. 在確定《條例》的合憲性時,法院有權且必須將《基本法》視為一份“活的文獻”,而這是《基本法》頒布時未曾設想到的新事項。在如此實行時,法院仍受《基本法》之目的和相關條款,以及根據其文意來理解的文字的指導和約束。在裁定《條例》合憲時,原審法官並沒有過度依賴該“活的文獻”概念。原審法官已考慮到《基本法》的文意和目的,亦即是在“一國兩制”原則下維持及維護香港的獨特制度,並基於他所提出的理由,裁定其未受《條例》所侵害,並指出若將《基本法》解讀為具有禁止“一地兩檢”(其促進香港特別行政區的整體利益)的作用,此乃未能將《基本法》視為一份“活的文獻”(State v Zuma 1995 (4) BCLR 401、Ng Ka Ling v Director of Immigration (1999) 2 HKCFAR 4、 Matadeen v Pointu [1999] 1 AC 98、Cheng Kar Shun v Li Fung Ying [2011] 2 HKLRD 555、W v Registrar of Marriages (2013) 16 HKCFAR 112、Leung Sze Ho Albert v Bar Council of Hong Kong Bar Association [2016] 5 HKLRD 542、ZN v Secretary for Justice [2018] 3 HKLRD 778、ZN v Secretary for Justice (2020) 23 HKCFAR 15 等案件適用)。
  2. 全國人大常委會的決定(該決定是就兩個制度的界面上的標的事項而作出)具有法律效力,亦對內地政府部門具有約束力。作為內地法律,其對香港特別行政區也具有約束力。鑑於在法院席前所作的陳詞,該決定就香港法律而言是否具約束力,有關問題將留待在另一場合處理。
  3. 全國人大常委會的決定,在香港特別行政區法院對基本法的解釋方面,具有很強說服力。首先,全國人大常委會為了確認某項安排符合《基本法》從而作出的決定,就內地法律而言乃屬最終的。在面對標的事項被指違反《基本法》的憲法挑戰時,相關關鍵事實必須獲香港特別行政區法院的接納。第二,倘若終審法院在“必要條件”的規限下,要求由全國人大常委會作出解釋,那麼全國人大常委會於諮詢了基本法委員會後,在其所作的解釋中想必會給予同樣的答案。然而,此舉並非免卻法院讓其可不必就《條例》是否違反《基本法》作出裁定的憲法責任。此外,就法例解釋而言,全國人大常委會所通過的決定,不能被視作乃法規頒布後的一般性外在資料,因其效用遠超過為《基本法》的文意和解釋提供見解(Ng Ka Ling v Director of Immigration (1999) 2 HKCFAR 4 一案適用;Director of Immigration v Chong Fung Yuen (2001) 4 HKCFAR 211 一案被考慮)。
  4. 《條例》中的推定條文具有有力的法律依據,原因是:(i)它建基於有效確立的法律概念,亦即是在現代運輸及通訊中,可對地域邊界和司法管轄區作出區分,而其延伸範圍並非必然相同,須視乎情況而定;(ii)它達致《條例》的目的,再無其他;(iii)法院充分肯定全國人大常委會的決定,確認《條例》(包括推定條文)符合《基本法》。因此,從憲法的目的和狀況來看,基於其特定目的、獨特性,以及在地理位置和個人類別方面的有限適用性,就適用內地法律及司法管轄權而言(保留事項除外),《條例》將內地口岸區視為在香港特別行政區範圍以外和內地範圍以內,並無違反《基本法》第18條和第19條。此外,《條例》亦並未削弱香港特別行政區根據全國人民代表大會授權而享有的高度自治,亦未有讓《基本法》所守護的兩個制度之間的分界線被超越,以致香港的制度被內地制度侵蝕。這結論進一步獲連貫性原則的支持,而根據該項原則,《基本法》必須以和諧一致的方式來閱讀(Sino Wood Investment Ltd v Wong Kam Yin (2005) 8 HKCFAR 715、Chu Woan Chyi v Director of Immigration (HCAL 32/2003, [2007] HKEC 553)、Comilang Milagros Tecson v Director of Immigration (2019) 22 HKCFAR 59、Kwok Cheuk Kin v Director of Lands [2021] 1 HKLRD 737等案適用;Crotty v An Taoiseach [1987] 2 CMLR 666、Boumediene v Bush 553 US 723 (2008) 等案被區別)。
  5. 《條例》的合憲性有賴對《基本法》作出適當的詮釋。若引用《基本法》的相關條文,《條例》將會明確符合相稱性測試,而其合憲性亦將因此得到維持(Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372 一案適用)。

上訴

本案乃就周家明法官裁定《廣深港高鐵(一地兩檢)條例》(第632章)合憲(參見 [2019] 1 HKLRD 292)所作出之判決而提出的上訴。

Jurisdictions

Kwok Cheuk Kin v Secretary for Justice

[2021] 3 HKLRD 140, [2021] HKCA 871, [2021] HKEC 2574
Poon CJHC, Lam V-P and Barma JA
19, 20 January, 11 June 2021

Facts

In 2017, the Chief Executive of the HKSAR and the Governor of Guangdong signed the Co-operation Arrangement between the Mainland and the HKSAR on the Establishment of the Port at the West Kowloon Station (WKS) of the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (the XRL) for implementing a Co-location Arrangement for clearance procedures for the XRL. Pursuant to the Co-operation Arrangement, customs, immigration and quarantine procedures of the Mainland and the HKSAR, as two different jurisdictions, were successively conducted at the Hong Kong Port Area and the Mainland Port Area of the West Kowloon Station, the terminus of the Hong Kong Section of the XRL. The Mainland Port Area was regarded as being situated in the Mainland and subject to the Mainland jurisdiction and law save and except certain reserved matters as prescribed. Subsequently, the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress (the NPCSC) approved the Co-operation Arrangement and confirmed that it was consistent with the Constitution and the Basic Law of the HKSAR (the BL) (the NPCSC Decision). Both the Mainland and the HKSAR implemented the Co-operation Arrangement pursuant to their respective procedures, including the enactment in the HKSAR of the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Co-location) Ordinance (Cap.632) (the Ordinance).

Xs brought judicial review proceedings challenging the constitutionality of the Ordinance on grounds including that: (i) the Ordinance, in particular the deeming provision under s.6, violated arts.18 and 19 of the BL (BL18 and BL19 respectively) since HKSAR laws were excluded from a place within the HKSAR’s geographic boundary; and (ii) the complete disapplication of HKSAR laws violated a number of provisions of the BL which conferred executive, legislative and judicial powers over the HKSAR, and the “one country, two systems” principle. The Judge found that the Ordinance was constitutionally compliant and dismissed the substantive application. Xs appealed on the main grounds that the Judge erred in: (i) relying on or placing excessive reliance on the principle that the BL should be treated as a “living instrument”; (ii) taking into account the NPCSC Decision and/or finding it to be highly persuasive; (iii) finding that the Ordinance was consistent with the BL, contrary to BL18 and BL19 and the basic purposes and policies of the BL; and (iv) finding that the establishment of the Mainland Port Area in WKS was itself a manifestation of the exercise of Hong Kong’s high degree of autonomy and recognition of the two distinct and separate systems being practised in Hong Kong and the Mainland.

The Court of Appeal formulated the core issue as: “Whether except for the reserved matters as defined, in deeming the Mainland Port Area at the [WKS] as an area lying outside Hong Kong but lying within the Mainland for the purpose of applying the Mainland law and the delineation of jurisdiction (including jurisdiction of the courts) over the Mainland Port Area, the Ordinance contravenes … BL18 and BL19 … thereby infringing the basic policies of establishing the [HKSAR] under the ‘one country, two systems’ principle; and diminishes the high degree of autonomy enjoyed by the HKSAR.”

Held, upholding the judgment below and dismissing Xs’ appeals, that:

  1. The courts were entitled to and must approach the BL as a “living instrument” in determining the constitutionality of the Ordinance, which was a novel matter not envisaged when the BL was promulgated. In doing that, the courts were still guided and bound by the purpose of the BL and the relevant articles, and its language in light of its context. The Judge did not overly rely on the concept of “living instrument” in holding that the Ordinance was constitutional. The Judge had regard to the context and the purpose of the BL, namely, to maintain and preserve Hong Kong’s distinct system under the “one country, two systems” principle, and for the reasons he gave, ruled that it was not violated by the Ordinance, before he observed that reading the BL as having the effect of prohibiting the Co-location Arrangement, which advanced HKSAR’s overall interests, would be a failure to treat the BL as a “living instrument” (State v Zuma 1995 (4) BCLR 401, Ng Ka Ling v Director of Immigration (1999) 2 HKCFAR 4, Matadeen v Pointu [1999] 1 AC 98, Cheng Kar Shun v Li Fung Ying [2011] 2 HKLRD 555, W v Registrar of Marriages (2013) 16 HKCFAR 112, Leung Sze Ho Albert v Bar Council of Hong Kong Bar Association [2016] 5 HKLRD 542, ZN v Secretary for Justice [2018] 3 HKLRD 778, ZN v Secretary for Justice (2020) 23 HKCFAR 15 applied).
  2. The NPCSC Decision, which was a decision on a subject matter lying at the interface of the two systems, had legal effect and was binding on governmental authorities in the Mainland. As a matter of Mainland law, it was also binding on the HKSAR. The question of whether such a decision was binding as a matter of Hong Kong law would be left open to another occasion in light of the submissions before the Court.
  3. The NPCSC Decision carried highly persuasive weight in the HKSAR court’s construction of the BL. First, a decision of the NPCSC that an arrangement conformed with the BL, was as a matter of Mainland law, final. That crucial fact must be accepted by HKSAR courts when approaching constitutional challenges that the subject matter contravened the BL. Second, where the Court of Final Appeal, subject to the “necessity condition”, made a referral to the NPCSC for interpretation, in all probability, the NPCSC, would give the same answer in its interpretation having consulted with the Basic Law Committee. That did not however, abdicate the courts’ constitutional duty to decide whether the Ordinance contravened the BL. Further, the NPSC Decision could not be approached as ordinary post-enactment extrinsic materials for the purpose of the construction exercise because it went far beyond shedding light on the context and purpose of construing the BL (Ng Ka Ling v Director of Immigration (1999) 2 HKCFAR 4 applied; Director of Immigration v Chong Fung Yuen (2001) 4 HKCFAR 211 considered).
  4. The deeming provision in the Ordinance rested on sound legal footing for the following reasons: (i) it proceeded on the well-established legal notion that in the context of modern transport and communication, a distinction may be drawn between territorial boundary and legal jurisdiction, which depending on the circumstances, was not necessarily co-extensive; (ii) it gave effect to the purpose of the Ordinance, and no more; (iii) the Court gave full weight to the NPCSC Decision confirming that the Ordinance, including the deeming provision, conformed with the BL. Therefore, in terms of constitutional purpose and context, given its specific purpose, unique characteristics, and limited applicability in terms of geographical location and classes of individuals, in deeming the Mainland Port Area as an area lying outside the HKSAR and lying within the Mainland for the purpose of applying the Mainland law and jurisdiction except for the reserved matters, the Ordinance did not contravene BL18 and BL19. The Ordinance did not diminish the high degree of autonomy enjoyed by the HKSAR as authorised by the National People’s Congress. It did not impermissibly allow the Mainland system to pass the demarcation line between the two systems zealously guarded by the BL and encroach upon the Hong Kong system. That conclusion was further supported by the coherence principle, under which the BL must be read in a harmonious and congruous way (Sino Wood Investment Ltd v Wong Kam Yin (2005) 8 HKCFAR 715, Chu Woan Chyi v Director of Immigration (HCAL 32/2003, [2007] HKEC 553), Comilang Milagros Tecson v Director of Immigration (2019) 22 HKCFAR 59, Kwok Cheuk Kin v Director of Lands [2021] 1 HKLRD 737 applied; Crotty v An Taoiseach [1987] 2 CMLR 666, Boumediene v Bush 553 US 723 (2008) distinguished).
  5. The constitutionality of the Ordinance was to be determined primarily by a proper construction of the BL. If the relevant provisions of the BL were engaged, the Ordinance would clearly satisfy the proportionality test and its constitutionality would also be upheld on this ground (Hysan Development Co Ltd v Town Planning Board (2016) 19 HKCFAR 372 applied).

Appeals

These were appeals against the judgment of Anderson Chow J holding that the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link (Co-location) Ordinance (Cap.632) was constitutionally compliant (see [2019] 1 HKLRD 292).

Jurisdictions