Kim Min Ju v Law Society of Hong Kong
原訟法庭
高院雜項案件 2019 年第 2290 號
主審法官: 高等法院首席法官潘兆初
2020 年 9 月 11 日

 

引言

第159章《法律執業者條例》(「《條例》」)第6(6)條要求律師會向律師發出的執業證書附有兩年受僱規定,條文如下:

(6)「凡屬在1976年8月1日或之後首次向任何律師發出的執業證書,而該律師不能令理事會信納他自從獲認許為律師後,曾於申請該執業證書之前至少有2年真誠地受僱從事於一名在香港的律師的執業業務,則該執業證書須附有一項條件,規定該律師不得獨自或以合夥形式執業為律師,直至他令理事會信納他自從獲認許為律師後曾至少有2年真誠地受僱從事於一名在香港的律師的執業業務為止。」

然而,根據《條例》第6(6A)條,律師會理事會(「理事會」)可免除兩年受僱規定

(6A)「如理事會認為申請人在香港或其他地方已取得相當的法律經驗,則理事會可免除第(6)款的2年受僱規定,或可將2年的規定期間減至其認為適合的一段期間。」

如果申請人不獲免除規定,他可依據《條例》第6(10)條向本院上訴。

在本上訴引起的爭議主要是以下兩項:

(1)《條例》第6(6A)條所要求的「相當的法律經驗」是指什麼經驗?(第一項爭議)
(2)律師會評定原告人沒有《條例》第6(6A)條所指的「相當的法律經驗」,因而不免除他兩年受僱規定,這是否有錯?(第二項爭議)

仔細考慮雙方遞交的書面陳詞後,本席認為適宜以審閱文件的方式並且在無口頭聆訊的情況下,裁定是項上訴。

背景

原告人以前是大律師。他在2011年4月30日獲認許,之後7年左右一直執業,主要處理商業訴訟和刑事訴訟。2018年4月,他為了取得律師資格,申請從大律師名冊除名。2018年4月17日至2019年1月21日他受僱於岑明才律師行擔任法律經理,主要參與商業訴訟和刑事訴訟的工作。2018年11月17日,他獲認許為律師,2019年1月21日首次獲發給執業證書。自此以後,一直在岑明才律師行擔任助理律師,工作主要涉及商業訴訟和刑事訴訟、企業融資、婚姻法、遺囑認證和遺產管理,以及知識產權。

2019年10月29日,原告人開始參與律師業務後9個月左右,他根據《條例》第6(6A)條向律師會審批委員會(「審批委員會」)申請要求獲免除兩年受僱規定。在一份支持申請的法定聲明中,原告人列出他的學歷和受僱紀錄,以及處理訴訟的經驗。他說自己有7年大律師經驗,包括受聘於多間律師事務所處理大大小小有爭議和無爭議的問題、由案件開始到結束每週上庭與律師一起處理案件,因此在整段大律師執業期間,已累積相當的「律師」經驗。他接續說道,自己在岑明才律師行受僱為法律經理及助理律師期間,成功給律師行介紹新客戶及與法律界有聯繫的人,廣開人脈,表現出有足夠能力勝任律師事務所合夥人或獨資經營者的執業工作。

審批委員會在2019年11月15日拒絕原告人的申請。審批委員會在一封日期為2019年12月20日的信函中說明,因為他已獲律師會根據《實習律師規則》第20(1)條規則豁免受僱規定,所以完全沒有在任何律師事務所接受過正式訓練,一直到2019年1月21日才開始在岑明才律師行以助理律師身份工作,審批委員會因此不信納他已從律師執業業務取得第6(6A)條所要求的相當的經驗。

2020年1月7日,原告人向律師會審查及紀律常務委員會(「常務委員會」)尋求覆核決定。原告人在一封日期為2020年4月16日的信函列出他的工作經驗,顯示他具有的法律知識和法律執業經驗,相等於律師受僱從事於一名合資格律師的執業業務兩年才會得到的經驗。他說自己擔任法律經理時,直接協助合夥人處理各式各樣的訴訟事宜。一成為助理律師,隨即在很大程度上獨力處理各種各樣的檔案。他亦參與商業和企業融資事宜。擔任法律經理及助理律師的時候,處理過訴訟事宜的各個方面,例如接收當事人的指示;進行衡突檢查、確定和核實當事人的身份、盡職審查當事人的資金;取得委聘;訴訟前還未行動及給予意見之前草擬信函;草擬狀書和法庭文件;指示員工發給當事人中期賬單;以及在法庭訴訟開展後處理當事人的資金和賬款。

常務委員會致函原告人(信函日期是2020年5月21日),通知他常務委員會維持審批委員會的決定。審批委員會及常務委員會秘書董彥嘉在她的誓章(日期是2020年6月17日)解釋說:「[常務委員會]會員是根據經營律師事務所的合夥人所必須具備的那一種法律執業經驗來考慮書面陳述書。在正常情況下,取得這種經驗的例子包括:督導律師行已合資格和未合資格的員工;設立和維持妥善的會計制度及對該等制度的妥善內部控制,確保遵守《律師帳目規則》;以及備存妥善的會計紀錄,準確顯示為每名當事人及每項信託而持有的款項的狀況。[常務委員會]會員根據《條例》第6(6A)條考慮律師會的《申請指引》(「《指引》」)在這情況是否適用、原告人在岑明才律師行擔任法律經理(即是未合資格的員工)的經驗和實習期的豁免是否不適用。[常務委員會]會員表明不信納原告人已獲得足夠的律師經驗,認為他的經驗有別於在香港兩年全職從事法律工作的律師所獲得的。」

扼要的說,律師會認為原告人尚未取得作為律師所須具備的足夠的法律經驗,未合資格獲理事會根據《條例》第6(6A)條免除兩年受僱規定。

意見

剛才已經間接提到,雙方陳詞引出上文[4]所述的兩項主要爭議。本席現在依次處理。

第一項爭議

第一項爭議關乎《條例》第6(6A)條所要求的「相當的法律經驗」的涵義。這是法例詮釋的問題。本席認為答案顯而易見。

《條例》第6條賦權律師會向律師發出執業證書,獲發證書的律師按照各款列出的多項規定,實習做律師。第6(6)條的兩年受僱規定確保一件事,就是任何律師至少2年不能獨自或以合夥形式執業為律師。考慮應否根據第6(6A)條批予免除兩年受僱規定的時候,整體目的是釐定申請人有沒有「相當的法律經驗」,即使沒有人督導,也能夠以律師身份執業。本著這個目的詮釋法例,「相當的法律經驗」必定是指作為律師所具備的相當的法律經驗。

基於律師執業業務的性質,作為律師所具備的相當的法律經驗,包含實體法和以律師身分從事法律執業的經驗。正如上訴法庭副庭長赫健士爵士在Re Alexander Adamovich, a solicitor一案(參看上文)第272H-J頁闡述第6(6A)條的立法原意時解釋說:「本席認為立法原意是確保執業者獲准在沒有督導的情況下執業之前,還未掌管及負責他的當事人的資金的時候,不應只有實體法的知識,還應當已經具有法律執業的知識,不論是在香港的還是在英國的;因此可合理假設的是,理事會有意不引用第(6)款的情況只有一種:理事會認為申請人已經取得的法律知識和法律執業經驗,是他相當可能可以另一種形式在兩年有限度執業期間取得的那一種。」

好好理解上下文就知道,上訴法庭副庭長赫健士爵士提述的「法律執業」,定必是指律師的法律執業。

因此,按照對第6(6A)條的正確解釋,只要理事會認為申請人在(1)實體法和(2)香港律師的法律執業業務取得的知識,是相當可能可以另一種形式在兩年以律師身份有限度執業期間取得的知識,他就會是已經取得必需要的相當的法律經驗。Mr Brown的相反陳詞全被否定。

第二項爭議

第二項爭議涉及律師會的評定,即原告人缺乏第6(6A)條所規定必需要的相當的經驗。在本案,法庭被要求裁斷律師會最初的決定是否有錯。

在這方面,關於一般用來處理任何根據第6(10)條提出的上訴的方法,現在適宜稍作補充。在Re Alexander Adamovichh, a solicitor一案(參看上文),上訴法庭副庭長赫健士爵士在第273J-274A頁提出意見。他認為,法庭應當干預理事會的決定的情況只有一種:確信理事會的決定是不可能根據證據合理地作出的。然而,這不是在司法覆核引用的不合理性驗證標準。正如首席法官李國能在Yau Chung Wo Jeremiah v Law Society of Hong Kong案(HCMP 425/1999,未經彙報,1999年6月30日,第8頁)解釋說:「[副庭長赫健士爵士]引用的驗證標準是,只有在確信不可能根據證據合理地達到理事會的決定時,他才應該插手干預理事會的決定。本席認為,如果他當時在引用司法覆核的不合理性驗證標準,驗證上訴法定權利的方法就會是用錯了。但如果他在上訴時才有那個意思,首席法官應當適當地重視監管機構的決定;這會是特殊情況下的恰當做法。」

法庭處理根據第6(6A)條提出的上訴時,應當適當地重視律師會最初作出的決定,箇中理由不言而喻。律師會在《條例》下獲條例託付基本責任,須確保律師獲准在沒有督導的情況下執業之前,必須在法律知識和以律師身份從事的法律執業方面,已經具備充足經驗。律師會是監管律師專業的機構,理事會成員及理事會轄下委員會的會員具備豐富的經驗和專門知識,集思廣益,律師會完全處於最佳位置去釐定申請人是否已取得所必需並且相當的法律經驗,是否合資格獲免除兩年受僱規定:見上訴法庭副庭長赫健士爵士在Re Alexander Adamovich, a solicitor案(參見上文)第273J頁所說的話;亦見上訴法庭副庭長林文瀚在Roderick Miller v Law Society of Hong Kong [2014] 3 HKLRD 1 at [27]的意見。

在本案,正如董彥嘉女士的解釋,律師會的確考慮到原告人以大律師身份執業時所得的經驗,因此才信納他充份認識香港實體法。不過他的申請遭拒,原因是他無法證明自己在律師的法律執業業務所取得的經驗,跟任何律師在兩年有限度執業期間所取得的經驗一樣:見上文第[9]段引用在她的誓章的解釋。

律師會裁斷原告人展示的經驗和知識只不過顯示他在實體法方面具有廣泛的實踐和相當的經驗,可是說到律師的法律執業業務,他自從以助理律師身份執業9個月以來(那時他提出免除受僱規定的申請)取得的知識和經驗,難以被視為足以符合第6(6A)條的門檻。本席整體考慮過證據之後,認為律師會的裁斷有充份理據支持。就第6(6A)條要求以律師身份從事法律執業的經驗而進行的評定中,他以往的大律師經驗所佔比重微不足道,律師事務所法律經理的經驗(如果有的話)也是一樣。本席看不見任何理據可支持打擾律師會的評定。本席否定Mr Brown的相反陳詞。

案件處理

因此,本席維持律師會的決定,拒絕原告人根據《條例》第6(6A)條提出的要求免除規定的申請。

關於訟費,本席作出暫准命令,原告人須付給律師會本上訴的訟費,如雙方未能就訟費達成協議,訟費須由法院評定。

《條例》第6(10)條訂明:「凡理事會在申請人聲稱在香港或其他地方已取得相當的法律經驗時,拒絕不引用第(6)款,則該申請人可在獲悉理事會的決定後1個月內,就該項決定向高等法院首席法官上訴。」

梁家茵 合夥人 世勤律師事務所

Jurisdictions: 

合夥人 世勤律師事務所

Kim Min Ju v Law Society of Hong Kong
Court of First Instance
HCMP 2290/2019
Presiding Judge: Jeremy Poon CJHC
11 September 2020

Introduction

Section 6(6) of the Legal Practitioners Ordinance, Cap 159 ("the LPO") enjoins the Law Society to impose a two-year requirement when issuing a practising certificate to a solicitor. in these terms:

(6) "It shall be a condition of a practising certificate issued for the first time on or after 1 August 1976 to any solicitor who does not satisfy the Council that since being admitted as a solicitor he has been bona fide employed in the practice of a solicitor in Hong Kong for at least 2 years prior to his application for such practising certificate, that he shall not practise as a solicitor on his own account or in partnership until he satisfies the Council that since being admitted as a solicitor he has been bona fide employed in the practice of a solicitor in Hong Kong for at least 2 years."

The two-year requirement may, however, be waived by the Council of the Law Society ("the Council") under section 6(6A) of the LPO:

(6A) "If the Council considers that an applicant has acquired substantial experience in the law either in Hong Kong or elsewhere, the Council may waive the 2 year employment requirement in subsection (6) or it may reduce the period of 2 years to a period it considers appropriate."

If an applicant is denied such a waiver, he may appeal to this Court pursuant to section 6(10) of the LPO. 1

Two principal issues arise from this appeal:

(1) What is the meaning of "substantial experience in the law" for the purpose of section 6(6A) of the LPO? (1st Issue)
(2) Did the Law Society erred in its assessment that the plaintiff did not have "substantial experience in the law" within the meaning of section 6(6A) of the LPO so that the two-year requirement cannot be waived? (2nd Issue)

Having considered the written submissions lodged by the parties, I consider it appropriate to determine the appeal on papers without an oral hearing.

Background

The plaintiff was formerly a barrister. He was admitted on 30 April 2011 and had since practised mainly in commercial and criminal litigation for about 7 years. In April 2018, he applied to be removed from the roll of barristers in order to be qualified as a solicitor. Between 17 April 2018 and 21 January 2019, he was employed by Shum & Co as a legal manager, involving mainly with commercial and criminal litigation. On 17 November 2018, he was admitted as a solicitor and was issued his first practising certificate on 21 January 2019. He has since been working as an assistant solicitor with Shum & Co, practising mainly in commercial and criminal litigation, corporate finance, matrimonial law, probate and administration and intellectual property.

On 29 October 2019, that is, about 9 months after he commenced practice as a solicitor, the plaintiff applied to the Consents Committee of the Law Society ("the Consents Committee") for a waiver of the two-year requirement under section 6(6A) of the LPO. In the supporting statutory declaration, the plaintiff set out his education and employment history and his experience in handling litigation. Referring to his experience as a barrister for 7 years including receiving instructions from various solicitors in respect of different contentious and non-contentious matters, appearance in courts on weekly basis and handling cases with solicitors from the outset until conclusion, the plaintiff said that he had garnered significant "solicitor" experience throughout his practice as a barrister. He went on to say that during his employment with Shum & Co as legal manager and assistant solicitor, he had exhibited the ability to practise successfully as a partner of a law firm or as a sole-proprietor by successfully introducing new clients, associates and contacts in the legal industry to the firm.

The Consents Committee rejected the plaintiff's application on 15 November 2019. In the letter dated 20 December 2019, the Consents Committee stated that as he had no formal training in a solicitors' firm because of the exemption from employment as a trainee solicitor granted to him under rule 20(1) of the Trainee Solicitors Rules and he only commenced practice as an assistant solicitor with Shum & Co since 21 January 2019, the Consents Committee was not satisfied that he had acquired substantial experience in his practice as a solicitor for the purpose of section 6(6A).

On 7 January 2020, the plaintiff sought to review the decision before the Standing Committee on Compliance of the Law Society ("the Standing Committee"). By a letter dated 16 April 2020, the plaintiff set out his working experience to show that he possessed the knowledge of law and legal practice equivalent to that which would be acquired by a solicitor in the course of two years of practice of a qualified solicitor. He said that during his tenor as a legal manager, he directly assisted the partner in a wide range of litigation matters. Once he became an assistant solicitor, he handled a broad range of files with a high degree of autonomy. He also engaged in commercial and corporate finance matters. As legal manager and assistant solicitor, he handled various aspects of litigation matters, such as taking clients' instructions; conducting conflict checks, client identification and verification; conducting due diligence on client's funds; obtaining retainers; drafting letters before action and advice at the pre-action stage; drafting pleadings and court documents; directing his staff to issue interim bills to clients; and handling clients' funds and monies on account after commencement of court actions.

By a letter dated 21 May 2020, the Standing Committee informed the plaintiff that it upheld the Consents Committee's decision. In her affidavit dated 17 June 2020, Ms Margot Yin Ka Tung, the secretary to the Consents Committee and Standing Committee explained: "The members of [the Standing Committee] considered the Written Representations in light of the type of experience in legal practice required of a partner who is running a solicitors' firm. Normally, such experience would include, for example, supervising qualified and unqualified staff members of a firm, establishing and maintaining proper accounting systems and proper internal controls over those systems to ensure compliance with the Solicitors' Accounts Rules and keeping proper accounting records to show accurately the position with regard to the money held for such client and each trust. The members of [the Standing Committee] considered the applicability of [the Law Society's Guidelines for Applications under section 6(6A) of the LPO ("the Guidelines")] in this situation, the inapplicability of the Plaintiff's experience as a Legal Manager (i.e. as an unqualified staff member) in Shum & Co., and the Traineeship Exemption. The members of [the Standing Committee] indicated that they were not satisfied that the Plaintiff had gained sufficient experience of legal practice as a solicitor similar to that of a solicitor who has experienced two years of full-time practice in law in Hong Kong."

In gist, the Law Society took the view that the plaintiff had not acquired sufficient experience in the law as a solicitor to qualify for a waiver of the two-year requirement under section 6(6A) of the LPO.

Issue(s)

  • Issue 1: The 1st Issue concerns the meaning of "substantial experience in the law" for the purpose of section 6(6A) of the LPO. It is a matter of statutory construction.

The answer is in my view plain and obvious. Section 6 of the LPO empowers the Law Society to issue practising certificates to solicitors to practise qua solicitors in accordance with the various requirements set out in the subsections. The two-year requirement in section 6(6) ensures that no solicitor can practise as a solicitor on his own or in partnership for at least 2 years.

In considering if a waiver of the two-year requirement should be granted under section 6(6A), the whole purpose is to determine if the applicant has "substantial experience in the law" so that he can, without supervision, practise as a solicitor. Construed with this purpose in mind, "substantial experience in the law" must mean substantial experience in the law as a solicitor. Given the nature of the practice of a solicitor, substantive experience in the law as a solicitor encompasses both the substantive law and the legal practice as a solicitor.

As explained by Huggins VP in Re Alexander Adamovich, a solicitor, supra, at p.272H-J when he expounded the legislative intent of section 6(6A): "I accept that the intention of the legislature was to ensure that, before a practitioner was allowed to practise without supervision and to have control of, and responsibility for, his client's funds, he should not only have a knowledge of the substantive law but also have gained a knowledge of legal practice, either in Hong Kong or in the United Kingdom, and it is reasonable to assume that the Council was intended to disapply sub.s.(6) only where an applicant had, in the opinion of the Council, acquired such a knowledge of the law and legal practice as he might otherwise likely to acquire during two years' limited practice." Properly understand in context, Huggins VP's reference to "legal practice", must mean the legal practice of a solicitor.

Accordingly, on a proper construction of section 6(6A), an applicant would have acquired the requisite substantial experience in the law if he has, in the opinion of the Council, acquired knowledge of both (1) the substantive law and (2) the legal practice of a solicitor in Hong Kong, as he might otherwise likely to acquire during two years' limited practice as a solicitor. The contrary submissions by Mr Brown are all rejected.

  • Issue 2: The 2nd Issue involves the Law Society's assessment that the plaintiff lacked the requisite substantial experience for the purpose of section 6(6A). Here, the court is asked to determine if the primary decision of the Law Society is erroneous.

In this regard, a few words about the general approach to be adopted in dealing with an appeal brought under section 6(10) of the LPO is apposite. In Re Alexander Adamovich, a solicitor, supra, Huggins VP at pp. 273J-274A took the view that the court should interfere with the Council's decision only if persuaded that it was one which could not reasonably be reached on the evidence. This is, however, not a test of irrationality as applied in judicial review. As Li CJ explained in Yau Chung Wo Jeremiah v Law Society of Hong Kong HCMP 425/1999, unreported, 30 June 1999, at p.8: "The test [Huggins VP] applied was that he should interfere with the Council's decision only if persuaded that it was on which could not reasonably be reached on the evidence. If he were applying the judicial review test of irrationality, that would, in my view, be an incorrect test on a statutory right of appeal. But if he meant only that on appeal, the Chief Justice should accord proper weight to the decision of the regulatory body, that would be unexceptional and appropriate."

The reason why the court should give proper weight to the primary decision made by the Law Society when approaching an appeal under section 6(6A) is self-evident. The Law Society is entrusted by the legislature under the LPO with the primary obligation to ensure that solicitors must have sufficient experience both in terms of legal knowledge and legal practice as a solicitor before they are permitted to practise without supervision. As the regulatory body of the profession armed with the collective experience and expertise of the members of the Council and its committees, the Law Society is plainly in the best position to assess and determine if an applicant has acquired the requisite substantive experience in the law to qualify for the waiver of the two-year requirement: see Re Alexander Adamovich, a solicitor, supra, per Huggins VP at pp. 273J; see also Lam VP's observations in Roderick Miller v Law Society of Hong Kong [2014] 3 HKLRD 1 at [27].

Here, as explained by Ms Margot Tung, the Law Society did pay regard to the plaintiff's experience while practising as a barrister and thus was satisfied that he had acquired sufficient knowledge in the substantial law in Hong Kong. His application was however rejected for his failure to demonstrate that his experience in the legal practice of a solicitor was similar to the experience that a solicitor would obtain during two-years' limited practice: see her explanation in her affidavit quoted at [9] above.

Having considered the evidence in totality, I am of the view that the Law Society is well justified in concluding that the experience and knowledge exhibited by the plaintiff only shows that he has a wide range of practice and substantial experience on the substantive law but in terms of the legal practice of a solicitor, his knowledge and experience acquired for 9 months since practising as an assistant solicitor (as at the time of his waiver application) could hardly be regarded as sufficient to meet the threshold in section 6(6A). Neither his past experience as a barrister nor that as a legal manager of the firm has little, if any, weight in assessing his experience in terms of the legal practice as a solicitor for the purpose of section 6(6A). I can see no basis to disturb the Law Society's assessment. I reject Mr Brown's submissions to the contrary.

Dispositions

In consequence, I affirm the Law Society's decision in rejecting the plaintiff's application for a waiver under section 6(6A) of the LPO.

On costs, I make an order nisi that the plaintiff do pay the costs of this appeal to the Law Society to be taxed if not agreed.

1Section 6(10) of the LPO reads: "Where the Council refuses to disapply subsection (6) in the case of an applicant who claims to have acquired substantial experience in the law, either in Hong Kong or elsewhere, the applicant may appeal to the Chief Judge against the decision of the Council within 1 month of being informed of that decision."

Catherine Leung, Partner, Lewis Silkin

Jurisdictions: 

Legal Director, Lewis Silkin Hong Kong