HKSAR v SHAM Wing Kan
上訴法庭
民事上訴案件 2017 年第 270 號
主審法官: 高等法院首席法官潘兆初、上訴法庭副庭長林文瀚、上訴法庭副庭長麥機智
2020 年 4 月 2 日

案情

申請人和四名有利害關係人在2014年參加由民間人權陣線每年舉辦的7月1日大遊行。警方在2020年7月4日拘捕他們,理由是他們(a)違反適用於公眾遊行的規定和條件(第245章第15(4)條);及(b)阻撓一名在正當執行職務的警務人員(第212章第36條)。

警方拘捕五人後隨即檢取他們的手提電話,聲稱是為了保留手提電話內可供呈堂的證據;五人(及∕或其他人)涉嫌共同犯罪,那些是有助警方調查案件的舉證證據,可以證明他們故意叫停遊行,與一眾遊行人士突然走出不反對通知書指定的路線,在不獲准遊行的路段上遊行。

警方最後因為有人聲稱手提電話的內容受到法律專業保密權保護,所以把所有電話交還機主,不作檢查。

下級法院法律程序

申請人通過司法覆核要求兩件事:

  • 法庭宣告《警隊條例》第50(6)條(「第50(6)條」)不授權警務人員無須手令便可搜查在拘捕時檢取的手提電話上的內容;如其不然,第50(6)條授予這樣的搜查權,則宣告根據《香港人權法案》第十四條(「第十四條」)和《基本法》第三十條(「第三十條」),第50(6)條違憲。
  • 法庭撤銷警務處處長2014年7月4日檢取他的手提電話搜查當中內容的決定(「該決定」)。

法庭在2015年1月8日批予許可。實質聆訊於2015年11月4日在高等法院原訟法庭法官區慶祥席前進行(其後押後到2015年12月21日),當時警方已把申請人的手提電話交還給他。

區法官宣告,按照正確的解釋,第50(6)條授權警務人員無須手令便可搜查在拘捕時檢取的手提電話上(或類似裝置上)的數碼內容,但只在緊急情況下才可以這樣;同時宣告第50(6)條授權在緊急情況下無手令也可進行搜查,乃屬合憲,並且符合人權法第十四條和基本法第三十條。由於警方已經交還手提電話,沒有搜查電話上的內容,區法官因此沒有就申請人尋求撤銷該決定的濟助頒布命令。

作出判決的時候,區法官:

  • 自己首先想起上訴法庭在Keen Lloyd v Commissioner of C&E [2016] 2 HKLRD 1372所定義的保障私隱和非法及任意干擾兩者間的相稱性原則;
  • 指出第50(6)條的修訂(參考相關的立法會參考資料摘要)只要與普通法原則保持一致,就會符合無手令搜查的相稱性規定;
  • 認為加拿大最高法院R v Fearon [2014] 3 SCR 621中少數法官的意見更為可取。一邊是保障私隱權,另一邊是有效執法的原則,少數法官認為普通法容許的「拘捕時的附帶搜查權」在兩者之間平衡得恰到好處。區法官認為相對於Fearon案中的大多數意見,少數意見更加符合適用於香港情況的相稱性驗證標準;及
  • 認為緊急情況所指的,是一個人已被合法拘捕,而警務人員有理由認為這麼急切的搜查可以(a)防止給公眾或警務人員的安全造成迫切的威脅;(b)防止證據不一會便失去或被破壞,或(c)在極之急切和不穩的情況中發現證據。

是次上訴

警務處處長(答辯人)上訴推翻區法官的判決,大律師代表答辯人陳詞說:

  • 區法官的裁定有錯,因為他以有關權力為「拘捕時的附帶搜查權」,這種權力有別於緊急情況中的搜查權。
  • 後者是在北美形成的法則,北美有憲法保障免於在不合理情況下被搜查。
  • 由於香港普通法沒有這樣的法則,因此不宜在本案直接引用同一原則。
  • 代表答辯人用案中引用的相稱性分析審視搜查權的合法性後,認為Fearon案中大多數法官的處理方法是恰當的。大律師陳詞說,沒有手令而進行搜查的權力不應局限在緊急的情況,因為警方在日常行動中也需要即時進行搜查,而這些情況是不緊急的。

裁決— 判上訴得直:

  • 把區法官作出的宣告作廢。
  • 在以下情況中,拘捕後隨即搜查手提電話的權力可予行使:

(a) 根據《警隊條例》第50(7)條取得(由裁判官發出)手令;

(b) 如果搜查前取得手令並不合理而切實可行,警務人員必須同時有合理基礎支持即時搜查是有必要的(取得和保留資料∕證據或保護人生安全),不得不進行。

(c) 關於在(b)的情況下進行的無手令搜查,除了粗略地檢查過濾一下之外,細查的電話數碼內容應當局限於與(b)所列出的目的相關的項目;及

(d) 完成搜查後,警務人員應當在合理而切實可行的情況下,盡快撰寫完備的書面記錄,記下無手令搜查的目的和範圍;除非會危及正在進行的刑事調查程序,否則同時應當馬上把書面記錄的副本送交被捕人士。

  • 儘管行使這種權力會干擾被捕人士根據基本法第三十條和人權法第十四條享有的權益,但賦予警方這種權力是相稱的,而且與基本法第三十條和人權法第十四條兼容。

麥樂賢•周綽瑩•司徒悅律師行

Jurisdictions:

HKSAR v SHAM Wing Kan

Court of Appeal
Civil Appeal No. 270 of 2017
Coram: Hon Poon CJHC, Hon Lam and Macrae VPP
2 April 2020

Facts

The applicant and the 4 interested parties took part in the annual march organized by the Civil Human Rights Front on 1st July 2014. On 4th July 2020, they were arrested by the police for (a) breach of the requirements and conditions applying to public processions (s. 15(4) of Cap. 245) and (b) obstructing a police officer in the due execution of his duty (s. 36 of Cap. 212)).

Upon the arrests of the 5 persons, mobile phones were seized from them by the police. The police asserted that the mobile phones were seized in order to preserve the potential evidence contained in them, which may assist the police investigation by proving any suspected joint enterprise between the 5 persons (and / or with others) to deliberately cause a stoppage of the procession and an outbreak of the procession onto sections of the road outside the permitted areas as stipulated in the police’s Letter of No Objection.

Eventually, the police returned all mobile phones to their owners without inspection because of claims for legal professional privilege over their contents.

Proceedings Below

The applicant sought, by way of judicial review:

  • A declaration that section 50(6) of the Police Force Ordinance (“Section 50(6)”) does not authorize police officers to search without warrant the contents of mobile phones seized on arrest; or alternatively if such search power is so authorized, that Section 50(6) is unconstitutional under Article 14 of the Hong Kong Bill of Rights (“BOR 14”) and Article 30 of the Basic Law (“BL30”).
  • Quashing of the decision of the Commissioner of Police on 4th July 2014 to seize his mobile phones to search their contents (“the Decision”).

The Court granted leave on 8th January 2015. The substantive hearing took place on 4th November 2015 before Au J (later adjourned to 21st December 2015) and by then the police had returned to the applicant his mobile phones.

Au J made a declaration that Section 50(6) on a proper construction authorizes police officers to search the digital contents of a mobile phone (or a similar device) seized on arrest without warrant only in exigent circumstances; and that in so authorizing the warrantless search, Section 50(6) is constitutional and compliant with BOR 14 and BL 30. AU J made no order in respect of the applicant’s relief to quash the Decision as the mobile phones had already been returned without any search of their contents.

In arriving at his judgment, Au J:

  • First reminded himself of the proportionality principles defined by the Court of Appeal in Keen Lloyd v Commissioner of C&E [2016] 2 HKLRD 1372, on protection of privacy against unlawful and arbitrary interference;
  • Noted that the amendment to Section 50(6) (with reference to the relevant Legislative Council Brief) would satisfy the proportionality requirement in conducting a warrantless search by bringing it into line with common law principles;
  • Held that the minority view of the Canadian Supreme Court on the common law power of search incidental to arrest in R v Fearon [2014] 3 SCR 621, is to be preferred over the majority view, in providing the right balance between the protection of privacy rights and the interests of effective law enforcement, in meeting the proportionality test in the Hong Kong context; and
  • Held that exigent circumstances are where, when a person has been lawfully arrested, the police officer may reasonably suspect that such an urgent search may (a) prevent an imminent threat to safety of the public or police officers, (b) prevent imminent loss or destruction of evidence, or (c) lead to the discovery of evidence in extremely urgent and vulnerable situation.

Present Appeal

The Commissioner of Police (the respondent) appeals the judgment of Au J and it is submitted by Counsel on behalf of the respondent that:

  • Au J erred in his ruling as the power in question is a power of search incidental to arrest which is different from the power to search in exigent circumstances.
  • The latter is a doctrine developed in North America where there are constitutional safeguards against unreasonable searches.
  • As there is no such doctrine in the common law in Hong Kong, it is not apposite to apply the same principles here directly.
  • Examining the legality of the power of search against the proportionality analysis as applied here, the majority approach in Fearon is appropriate, that the power of warrantless searches should not be confined to situations of emergency as there are non-emergency situations where the day-to-day operational needs of the police require the search to be conducted immediately.

Held, in Allowing the Appeal, That:

  • The declaration granted by Au J be set aside.
  • The power to conduct a mobile phone search upon arrest can be exercised if:

(a) A warrant is obtained under Section 50(7) of the Police Force Ordinance (from a Magistrate);

(b) When it is not reasonably practicable to obtain such warrant before a search is conducted, the police officer must also have a reasonable basis for having to conduct the search immediately as being necessary (procurement and preservation of information / evidence or the protection of the safety of persons);

(c) For a warrantless search conducted under (b), other than a cursory examination for filtering purpose, the scope of the detailed examination of the digital contents of a phone should be limited to items relevant to the objectives set out in (b); and

(d) A police officer should make an adequate written record of the purpose and scope of the warrantless search as soon as reasonably practicable after the performance of the search and a copy of the written record should be supplied forthwith to the arrested person unless doing so would jeopardize the ongoing process of criminal investigation.

  • Whilst the exercise of such power would interfere with the interest of an arrested person under BL 30 and BOR 14, the conferment of such power to the police is proportionate and compatible with BL 30 and BOR 14.

Morley Chow Seto

 

Jurisdictions