Congratulations to our colleagues

During this festive season, the Faculty is thrilled to see many colleagues are receiving honours and awards from both the University and other institution for their outstanding achievements.

A big congratulation to Professor Johannes Chan on his being conferred Chair Professorship by the University. A Chair Professorship at HKU is reserved for world-class scholars of distinction, and signifies due recognition of outstanding academic leadership and excellence. A top-rated researcher and academic leader, Professor Chan is held in high regard by his peers globally, and his significant contributions and accomplishments have received international acclaim.

The Faculty has done exceptionally well in the University’s Teaching Excellence Awards 2019:

Individual Award

  • University Distinguished Teaching Award – Ms Alice Lee
  • Outstanding Teaching Award – Ms Julienne Jen
  • Early Career Teaching Award – Ms Daisy Cheung

Team Award:

  • BA&LLB team – Dr Marco Wan and Dr Daniel Matthews (with colleagues from the Arts Faculty)

The Award Presentation Ceremony will be held in April 2020 and more will be shared later.

Congratulations also go to Ms Puja Kapai for receiving the award of American Chamber of Commerce (AmCham) Women of Influence (WoI) Professional of the Year Award 2019 for her “commitment to going beyond leaning in and dedicating her expertise to pushing boundaries and breaking through traditional barriers. Another round of applause to Ms Lindsay Ernst for organizing students to participate in the Digital Verification Corps (DVC) team, which is a partnership between Amnesty International, not-for-profit company Airwars and other five universities from around the world to develop a novel approach to investigating human rights violations in armed conflict. The team used innovative open source methods to identify videos and photos of the Syrian city of Raqqa online and then to geolocate destroyed buildings using Google Earth. The project led to the most comprehensive investigation into civilian deaths in modern conflict and won the Times Higher Education Award for International Collaboration.

Professor Johannes Chan SC (Hon), Chair Professor